Posted in Uncategorized

Some Friday Thoughts About Dreams And Hard work 

#LifeIsBeautiful #DreamsDoComeTrue  #Fridaythoughts 

Several years back, I used to go daily to office in same Auto Rickshaw and the drive to office used to be for 1 hour and Auto Driver Bhayya and me used to talk about current affairs, Indian history, world history. He is one wise auto driver who couldn’t pursue academics because of lack of focus on academics in his growing years in spite of being intelligent.
He didn’t want his daughters to miss the beauty of academics like him. But his elder daughter was little skeptical about big dreams because she used to think ” Auto driver’s daughter cannot afford to dream high”. 
Auto Bhayya knows about inspiring tale of my Dad ” Bank messenger to Bank Manager” and he knows that I was a Physics Lecturer earlier and he knows about the kids I taught in my colony too. So once he requested me help his daughters dream high, tell them about different career paths and how we should not compromise on our dreams in whichever state we are.
One fine weekend he brought his daughters to our home. Those two beautiful lil girls dressed in their best attires and came to our bungalow( I used the word bungalow because those girls were literally in awe seeing our building…our home). After giving them lots of snacks, the first question I asked them is ” How is this building”. They said ” It is very big like a palace Akka(Sis)! ” . I said to them ” Do you know who built it” and then told to them the story of my Dad. How my Dad’s family struggled in poverty, How he started his career as bank messenger, how he studied while working and how he became a Bank Manager”. This story of my Dad  was a good ice breaker with those lil girls. 
And then, slowly those girls started feeling comfortable talking with me. For the next weekends, they used to come to our home. Each weekend, I used to discuss with them about dreams, dreaming big, different career paths, how to study , what to study and every weekend i used to give them different tasks to research , study, think and complete by next weekend. I used to lend my childhood books to them so that they develop reading habits.
After some months, i got job in different city and I left. In due course of time this Auto Bhayya moved to another part of city and we weren’t in touch.
Last year, in these months of June/July when I was lazily walking in our colony , suddenly his van stopped and his daughters waved a bigggg Hiiiii to me with super excitement. They told that elder one is preparing for medicine entrance exam and second one is  12 th class.
Today, after a week of rest in home, along with my mom and my aunt I wanted to go for some shopping and I was waiting for auto. And to my surprise, it’s the same Auto Driver bhayyya.

First thing he told me is ” Chellama ( Sis) ! My elder daughter got a good rank in medical entrance and my second daughter got seat in Chemical Technology in this prestigious college of Hyderabad”.  I was in tears out of happiness.
Auto Driver bhayya might have taken his academics lightly but he took at most care about his daughters academics. He used to ensure that rights habits were in place. He ensured that his daughters read news paper everyday, he ensured that they at home don’t watch all time killing and brain draining daily tv serials or cartoons . Instead he encouraged them to play with other kids, read books.
Who says we can’t change our destiny.

Won’t Goddess of luck come to the people who work hard with sincerity and hope 🙂
Happy Friday.
Loads of Love,

Prasanna Rayaprolu

Author:

A fearless Czarina and Shameless optimist who lives life by her own rules

Leave a Reply

