Posted in Europe Diaries, Life's Like That, Travel and Places

European Diaries: Visit to Beautiful Finnish Town Poorvo

 

The first day I landed in Finland, I got chance to visit this place and I did’nt miss the chance of visiting this beautiful town. By the way, Porvoo is a scenic small town 50 kilometers east of Helsinki, Finland. One of the most popular day trips from Helsinki, its picturesque city center of wooden houses is a proposed UNESCO World Heritage Site.

I went to this place by bus and must say, the entire route was so scenic. The places near the river side are awesome. Luckily it was one of the weekends, where there was some restaurant day kind of events happening there, so I got chance to eat some yummy Indonesian food and got to listen to authentic, traditional syrian music. It was a different and amazing feeling seeing people from different parts of the world.

After the food episode, I did visit the old town of Poorvo, the riverside old wooden houses are something beyond my words, i felt as I jumped into some painting or I was in some good old classic English movie. I was just wondering, if it was really real.

After spending decent time at the riverside, did visit the old station and then the good old cathedral in old town. It was totally an awesome trip. It is really amazing in summer and they say it is equally amazing in winters…would’nt miss chance going to this beautiful town again 🙂

Loads of Love,

Prasanna Rayaprolu

Author:

A fearless Czarina and Shameless optimist who lives life by her own rules

Leave a Reply

