Mamma Mia: Keep Calm and Ask for Help

Mosio-Helpline-Vendor

 

Most of us are born and brought up in certain upbringing which unknowingly made us believe that asking for help from others is a sign of weakness, we assume only incompetent people ask for help. However, as I grew older I learnt that “Asking help is the wisest, coolest thing to do and asking help is actually a sign of strength”. It really takes lot of wisdom, strength to understand, analyse what exactly we know, what exactly we can do and then what exactly should we seek from others, and from whom to complete our tasks successfully and gracefully.

Self esteem is good, however our self esteem should not be a barrier in accepting our failures and it should not stop us in correcting/repeating  our failures.

Got an opportunity to watch Steve Jobs video on the same concept. Here it is for all of you:

“Now, I’ve actually always found something to be very true, which is most people don’t get those experiences because they never ask. I’ve never found anybody who didn’t want to help me when I’ve asked them for help. I’ve never found anyone who’s said no or hung up the phone when I called–I just asked. And when people ask me, I try to be as responsive, to pay that debt of gratitude back. Most people never pick up the phone and call, most people never ask. And that’s what separates, sometimes, the people that do things from the people that just dream about them. You gotta act. And you’ve gotta be willing to fail, you gotta be ready to crash and burn, with people on the phone, with starting a company, with whatever. If you’re afraid of failing, you won’t get very far.”

Cheers,

Prasanna Rayaprolu

Leave a comment