Posted in Delli Diaries, Travel and Places

Yeh Dilli Hai Mere Yaar, Bas Ishq Mohabbat Pyaar : An Awesome Visit To Chandni Chowk

Yeh Dilli Hai Mere Yaar, Bas Ishq Mohabbat Pyaar
Basti Hai Mastano Ki Dilli Dilli, Gali Hai Deewano Ki Dilli
Bolo Bolo Milo Se Dilli Dilli, Bolo Bolo Milo Se Dilli
Basti Hai Mastano Ki Dilli Dilli, Gali Hai Deewano Ki Dilli

Bada Kas Ke Gale Lagata Hai, Dhadkan Ki Dhoom Sunata Hai
Iske Baye Taraf Bhi Dil Hai, Iske Daye Taraf Bhi Dil Hai
Yeh Sehar Nahi Mehfil Hai
Yeh Dilli Hai Mere Yaar, Bas Ishq Mohabbat Pyaar

It has been More than 10 months I moved to Noida, however due to one or the other reason I could not explore Delhi till now properly. I have been cribbing about the same with my friends and finally this Saturday we got time  for Delhi tour, the weather was awesome, My friends wanted me to check Old Delhi first, so we went to Chandni Chowk.

Image Courtesy Google
Image Courtesy Google

Some information about Chandni Chowk, originally meaning moonlit square or market, is one of the oldest and busiest markets in Old Delhi, now in central north DelhiIndia. Built in 17th century by the great Mughal emperor of India Shah Jahan and designed by his daughter Jahan Ara, the market was once divided by canals (now closed) to reflect moonlight, and it remains one of India’s largest wholesale markets

(Information Courtesy :Wikipedia)

May be it was a strange coincidence our Delhi tour started with visit to Gurdwara Sis Ganj Sahib, this was the first time I visited a Gurdwara and am really blessed to visit this famous Gurdwara.

Image Courtesy google
Image Courtesy google

I was very very excited to visit this serene place, and each and every bit of this place depicts the beauty of Sikhism, the way they really live the religion by practicing all the good practices effectively.

Image Courtesy Google
Image Courtesy Google

Visiting Gurdwara was really a new, serene and awesome experience to me, unknowingly I had tears in my eyes out of joy and I don’t know i felt some kind of peace, for some strange reasons I felt that its a start of good time of my life, I did hide all these emotions of mine as I was scared that my friends might bug me by calling “Drama Queen”. I just requested them if we can stay some more time there, they agreed and so we spent good time listening to the bhajans and interestingly they were singing “Sawan Aaya Hey Sakhi” and by that time it started raining heavily outside 🙂 . And from then our Delhi tour was crazy crazy in the rain.

From Gurdwara, drenching in rain we went to Gali Parathe Wali,,its a famous street where we have series of shops where they serve awesome parathas of different varieties.Here we get to see several varieties of paratha. Being an ambiance freak, initially I did wonder if the place is OK, however  I did not express my worry for the fear of comments of friends, and above all i thought I should respect their plans for me :). As per their suggestions, I did have awesome nimbu paratha, papad paratha and paneer paratha : D . And ..yes…I am looking forward to visit this place again. You too… Don’t miss visiting this place next time you visit Delhi.

Image Courtesy Google
Image Courtesy Google

After having awesome parathas, in that mad rain we did not stop our tour ( as per the news on July 20th, Delhi had heaviest rain in the past 10 years…and lucky me had this crazy privilege of drenching and visiting Chandini Chowk during this time). I did see several wonderful Saree Shops, Jewelry shops , worship and rituals material shops. I was really tempted to buy some Saree and some nice ear rings, however due to that rain and related rush I did not do any shopping, however I bookmarked the shops in my mind for my next visit 😉

Image Courtesy Google
Image Courtesy Google

From there, drenching in the rain, we all went to Red Fort. There is immense craziness and beauty in visiting Red Fort during rain, Red Fort looks like a beautiful bride. At Red Fort we did not have any shade or any place to stand , however we did spend some time there drenching in rain like school kids.

Image Courtesy Google
Image Courtesy Google

By this time, Delhi roads started showing their true colors, they were fully logged with water, we blindly walked on the roads, stopped at a road side tea shop and had hot hot tea.

In the rain itself again we went to metro station and boarded our metro train. As we were all madly drenched in rain, fellow travelers had a weird look at us, they were wondering how all these grown up people could not manage to protect themselves from rain properly, they don’t know that we drenched purposefully.

Thanks to God and thanks to immune system, nothing has happened to our health thereafter, inspite of drenching in the rain continuously for three and half hours 🙂 . And yes, a biiiiiiiiiiiiiig THANKS to my friends for taking time for me 🙂

Meanwhile, am  waiting for the next trip to another place in Delhi by singing

“Yeh Dilli Hai Mere Yaar, Bas Ishq Mohabbat Pyaar
Basti Hai Mastano Ki Dilli Dilli, Gali Hai Deewano Ki Dilli
Bolo Bolo Milo Se Dilli Dilli, Bolo Bolo Milo Se Dilli
Basti Hai Mastano Ki Dilli Dilli, Gali Hai Deewano Ki Dilli”

Cheers,

Prasanna Rayaprolu

Author:

A fearless Czarina and Shameless optimist who lives life by her own rules

Leave a Reply

