Posted in Complex Human Mind, Inspirational Stuff, My Favorite Poems

Time for the Mind to Rest in Peace….

Image Courtesy Google

Ode on Solitude

By Alexander Pope

Happy the man, whose wish and care
A few paternal acres bound,
Content to breathe his native air,
In his own ground.

Whose heards with milk, whose fields with bread,
Whose flocks supply him with attire,
Whose trees in summer yield him shade,
In winter fire.

Blest! who can unconcern’dly find
Hours, days, and years slide soft away,
In health of body, peace of mind,
Quiet by day,

Sound sleep by night; study and ease
 Together mix’d; sweet recreation,
And innocence, which most does please,
With meditation.

Thus let me live, unseen, unknown;
Thus unlamented let me die;
Steal from the world, and not a stone
 Tell where I lye.

Sometimes, folks misunderstand my solitude!!! They feel that I am head strong!!! I do try to explain them that I like spending some part of the day..some hours of a week in Solitude…Solitude gives me bliss…Solitude gives me time for introspection..Solitude gives me strength..Solitude gives me courage…Solitude gives me creativity!!!!

I am not a cow to move in herd all the times!!! I am neither a Sheep to move in flocks all the times with the shepherd!!! Yeah..agree man is a social animal but not at the cost of solitude!!!

Believe me!!! There is immense joy in walking alone early morning among the trees observing nature, there is lots of fun drinking coffee alone in a coffee shop listenting to light music watching other folks, there is lots of happiness in listenting to soft instrumental music and doing some paint work, reading a book, there is some magic in observing nature and trying to capture it in the camera!!!! There is lot of joy in Solitude!!! Yeah..agree team work is fun…but spending some minutes for ourself once in a day and some hours once in a week is Necessary!!!

Solitude is the Time for the Mind to Rest in Peace….temporarily!!! I am not sure how does it look to have Solitude permanently 😛  In the end, no one is going to accompany you to your grave!!! So why not practice and enjoy solitude when you are alive itself !!!

Cheers,

Prasanna Rayaprolu

Author:

A fearless Czarina and Shameless optimist who lives life by her own rules

Leave a Reply

