Posted in My Favorite Poems

“Song Unsung” From Gitanjali of Rabindranath Tagore

 

Image Courtesy Google

 

The song that I came to sing remains unsung to this day.
I have spent my days in stringing and in unstringing my instrument.
The time has not come true, the words have not been rightly set;
only there is the agony of wishing in my heart.
The blossom has not opened; only the wind is sighing by.
I have not seen his face, nor have I listened to his voice;
only I have heard his gentle footsteps from the road before my house.
The livelong day has passed in spreading his seat on the floor;
but the lamp has not been lit and I cannot ask him into my house.
I live in the hope of meeting with him; but this meeting is not yet.

(Poem:”Song Unsung” From Gitanjali of Rabindranath Tagore)

Regards,

Prasanna Rayaprolu

Author:

A fearless Czarina and Shameless optimist who lives life by her own rules

Leave a Reply

