Posted in Complex Human Mind, Life's Like That

Do you know where you’re going to?

Image Courtesy Google

I have this habit of asking my Brother while travelling on the bike “Anna! Did we complete 10 percent of the distance to be covered. How much more time does it take to reach the destination”.  My Brother being so generous and kind enough answers this regular question of mine very patiently by saying “We completed 50 percent of the distance, we may reach in another half an hour” or some other distance and time factor depending on the distance we cover.

You might be surprised to hear that I ask this question for the regular distance I travel from office to home. I do know the exact distance from home to office. However, at the end of the day the eagerness to go home, the traffic on the road, tiredness and several other factors make me ask this silly question to my brother regularly.

Ok, the aspect of reaching from office to home is simple. We know the destination, we know the distance, we know the route and we can estimate the most probable risks like traffic jams, fuel etc , we have the risk management and change management plans ready for this aspect.

However, this knowledge is not applicable for the “Journey called LIFE”.  Life would have been so easy, wonderful if we really surely exactly know what is our destination, what is the distance to be travelled, how much time is required for reaching the destination, who are the fellow travellers , are any fellow travellers required in reaching our destination, if so who are they, what are the risks involved in this process of journey, what risk management and change management techniques need to be adopted .

Ayyyooo! Wish I knew !!!! Wish I knew where am I going to?

Do you people know???

Do you know where you’re going to?

Let us celebrate this confusion by hearing Maata Diana Ross’s Song :Do you know:

Do you know where you’re going to?
Do you like the things that life is showing you?
Where are you going to? do you know?
Do you get what you’re hoping for?
When you look behind you there’s no open door
What are you hoping for?
Do you know?

Cheers,

Prasanna Rayaprolu

Author:

A fearless Czarina and Shameless optimist who lives life by her own rules

5 thoughts on “Do you know where you’re going to?

  1. Nice post ..But I disagree completely with your post .

    It would have been a great disaster if we know in advance where we are going .. after all the human civilization developed coz of one tendency of mankind and that is called HOPE.
    if we know who are our fellow travellers and how they would be ..ha . I think there would have been very few families in the world !! ..
    Its not the final destination that matter s, but the journey …( He he see the movie :The Peaceful Warrior” )

    1. Bro! Found this lovely posts by Robin Sharma. The concept proposed by him sounds reasonable. I’m posting the article here:
      Getting What You Want While Loving What You Have

      Some pundits encourage us to enjoy the moment and appreciate what we have, suggesting that constantly striving for more is unhealthy and the primary source of our discontent. And others say that, as human beings, we were built to push beyond our comfort zones each day and reach for something higher. I’ve struggled a lot with this issue, as I articulate a personal philosophy that I will live my life under.

      I think I’ve found the answer, a solution that feels right to me: it’s a balance. I call it The Mandela Balance. Nelson Mandela, a hero of mine, once said: “After climbing a great hill, one finds that there are many more hills to climb. I have taken a moment here to rest, to steal a view of the glorious vista that surrounds me, to look back on the distance I have come. But I can only rest for a moment, for with freedom comes responsibilities, and I dare not linger, for my long walk has not yet ended.”

      To me, Nelson Mandela is suggesting that it’s all about a balance. Enjoy the view from where you are at. Savor how far you have come. Be grateful for where you are along the journey that is your life. But, remember that with the gifts that reside within you come great responsibilities. I believe that every human being has a Duty to Shine. We must walk out into the world and do our best to be of greater service to others and greater citizens in the world. We must continually walk towards our fears and make more of our lives. We must constantly play a bigger game. This drive to realize more of our greatest selves has, I believe, been knitted into our DNA and to deny it is to deny our human nature.

      And yes, as we set higher dreams and raise our personal standards, we will create discontent. But this world was built by people who felt some discontent with the way things were and knew they could do better. Think Gandhi. Think Mother Teresa. Think Steve Jobs and Bill Gates. Think Einstein. Think Mandela.

      So love what you have. And then go for what you want.

      Source: http://www.robinsharmaarticles.com/6/Getting_What_You_Want_While_Loving_What_You_Have/

  2. I feel the most thrilling aspect regarding the life journey is the journey itself and not reaching the destination. Suppose, it took you say 50 years to travel, and you are unhappy throughout the journey, but you are very very happy after reaching the destination, that is say the end of the life. What do you call such a life ? A happy life or an unhappy life ?

    1. Hmm! Well Said Bro! However…what if the entire journey is full of road blocks, curfews, jungles and then traffic jams….atleast we should have basic estimation for what are we struggling ….hehhe…this is the most pessimistic statement I have ever made….hahha..

Leave a Reply

