Posted in Books, Life's Like That

Our Study Room…

Yesterday I had a nice opportunity to discuss about different authors and their books. Discussions about different books made me go back to our library and check all those books. In our home, we have a small library. In it we have books related to Philosophy, Spirituality, Religions, Autobiographies, History, Politics, Psychology in Non-Fiction category. We do have some books related to Fiction too.

My brothers and me ensure that we have a better collection in our library, therefore in general we gift each other books and ensure that we place it in our library immaterial of the traversal of that book to different parts of the country. Friends and acquaintances who know us gave several books as gifts in all these years. This mini library has a decent number of books received by  us  as prizes in schools and colleges. My contribution with respect to this aspect is very low in comparison to my brothers 😉

My Dad being a very inquisitive person, tries to know about different aspects of religion and different meditation techniques. So his collection of books include several versions of Bhagavad Gita, books on Yoga, books on meditation, books on several breathing techniques and in this process some books of Osho too landed in our library 🙂 . However, books by Shri Adi Sankarachrya and Divine life society are of his favorites. He bought several Russian and Ukranian folk tale books for us in our childhood. Those books have nice print and good visuals. I still like reading those short stories.

My Big B (Big Brother) being the Big B of our gang used to be the RULER of our library for years. He is busy with his kids these days so he is not able to concentrate on books much. During his era, he bought several books into our library. He organized it in a planned manner. He used to concentrate more on Personality Development and Philosophy . The Complete works of Swami Vivekakanda, Commentaries on Living by Shri Jiddu Krishnamurti, Selected works of Mahatma Gandhi , books of Shri Aurobindo are my Big B’s special collection. He has special inclination to Telugu Literature.  Books on Andhra Pradesh history, short stories and novels by several Telugu authors like Chilakamarti Narasimham garu,  Tanguturi Prakasam Pantulu garu, Mokkapati Narasimha Sastry garu,  Dasaradhi Rangacharaya garu and some others are his favorite collections. I like the Biography/ Autobiography collection of my Big B. He bought  for us Surely You’re Joking Feynman, Jack – Straight from the gut, Indira by katherene Frank, Insider, My experiments with Truth by M.K.Gandhi, J.Krishnamurti by Pupul Jayakar, Freedom in exile by Dalai Lama etc . Books on world history, Indian History and Deccan History too are his favorite collections in our library.   He got his own collection of Sidney Sheldon  and Irving Wallace novels which he has in his book shelf 😉 . By the way Chetan Bhagat’s books landed in our library during my Big B’s time.

My second Bro, cool dude amongst us made our monastery , missionary school  typish  library into  a lively, bubbly garden. He brought lots of English Non fiction into our library. He brought books of Ruskin Bond, R.K.Narayan, O.Henry, Leo Tolstoy, Guy de Maupassant, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Dickens, Arundhathi Roy, Dan Brown  and several others into our library. He does not even mind reading Alice in wonderland or Dr.Jekyll and Mr.Hyde   aloud for us , when we all assemble during holidays.  He has special inclination towards Indian Politics and History.  We were encouraged by our second brother to add books related to these categories. So we have India after Independence by Bipan Chandra, Nationalism and colonialism in Modern India by Bipan Chandra,  We, The People by Nani Palkivala, The Argumentative Indian by Amartya Sen, India by Shashi Taroor,No Full stops in India by Mark Tully in our library. He added several story books like Arabian Nights, Black Beauty, Indian Folk tales to our library recently.

As my brothers buy almost all the stuff,  I need not make much effort in buying books and therefore I don’t  have authority on our library till date 😦 . However, I added to our  library  The Fountain Head, Atlas Shrugged By Ayn Rand, The Stranger, The Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus, Animal Farm by George orwell, The kite Runner by khaled hosseini, Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom, The Monk who sold ferrari by Robin Sharma and some others. Recently I added  The Autobiography by Nehru, Discovery of India by Nehru, The Ant and the Elephant by Vince Poscente, God is NOT dead by Amit Goswami, Gems from upanishads, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert , blink by Malcolm Gladwell, Be Happy Attitudes by Robert Schuller and  2 states by Chetan Bhagat to our library. There are some other books and if I write about them too this blog becomes a book.

However, these books and the memories associated with those books make our study room a special place for us. My Big B has a nice habit of writing the date of purchase and place of purchase in a nice corner of the book. My second bro and me follow that aspect of our Big B. It feels good once in a while taking out a book and just reading it for refreshment with a nice instrumental music as a background.

I owe to My Big Bro and second Bro a lot for inculcating book reading habit in me. Books help me a lot in my life.

Cheers,

Prasanna Rayaprolu

Author:

A fearless Czarina and Shameless optimist who lives life by her own rules

2 thoughts on “Our Study Room…

  1. Hi Prasanna,
    It was days since i visited the blog.As I too am a book lover,I love many a times to peep into people’s collection of books and libraries.From the time I saw u quote that u have a little study at home,I was very much eager to know the books u have in ur library,so that i too can once have a chance to come through some good new books.This article of yours had really helped me to find many new ones which I haven’t read.If u were in MTM i could have borrowed these from u

    1. Hiiiii Lalitha,
      Libraries in Machilipatnam are awesome 🙂
      Never mind we can share ebooks atleast 😉
      Happy Republic Day
      Cheers,
      Prasanna

Leave a Reply

